top of page
Writer's pictureAimee Reese

To Do Lists

Every administrative professional has a To Do List. Each admin has their way of handling their To Do List.


Here are options that I am sure some of you use to do your To Do List:

  • Use a Daytimer or Planner.

  • Use a notebook or journal.

  • Use Flags in Outlook.

  • Use an Excel Spreadsheet that you created.

  • Use Post-It Notes.

  • Use an app on your phone.

  • Use an online tool.

No matter what you pick to do your To Do List, the main thing is don't let it become overwhelming or completely out of control. You can visually see the list and can sometimes ask yourself how in the world am I going to get all of this done.


I have tried to use just about every single one of the above for my To Do List. I am a visual person so do have to have something in front of me. I tried the Daytimer did not work, I tried the notebook and journal that did not work, I tried the flags in Outlook, and that did not work, I tried Post-It Notes, and that did not work, I tried an App on my phone, and that did not work. The reason they did not work was because I was not comfortable using them. I felt I was spending more time rewriting, creating and trying to figure out what color the flag needed to be than I needed to spend.


Accomplishing my To Do List should not take so much time that I can’t complete the task at hand. If I am spending extra time doing the above, then I am not effectively getting what I need to get done.


I found using Microsoft Planner helps me with big projects that have many tasks and dates to be completed. I really like this tool for that reason. For small tasks that are just write and cross off I just use the old fashion pen and paper.


Now some love Outlook to handle their To Do List and some love using a Daytimer or notebook and that is great. The thing is that you have to find what is best for you and works for you. Only you can make that decision. You can get advice on what others are using, and you can try them but ultimately do what makes you the most productive and what you are most comfortable using.



Comentários


bottom of page