top of page
Writer's pictureAimee Reese

Handling Email

Email is our main form of communication. As an administrative professional, we are not only responsible for our own email but normally the executive that we are supporting. So how do you stay on top of both?


Here are some tips that I do so that I don’t become to overwhelmed:

  • I skim through my email in the morning before heading to the office. I am looking to see if there is anything urgent.

  • If there is something urgent, I leave it marked as unread so I can handle it right away.

  • If it something that can wait for a response I mark as read.

  • If something that requires no action, such as junk email, I delete it.

  • I use folders to categorize to make things easier to find.

These are simple steps that I use to help me keep on top of the emails.


Basically, you have to:

  • Handle – high priority

  • Wait – medium priority

  • Delete – low priority, no action needed

You can also use colored flags for your emails but, either way, you have to decide if it needs to be handled right away, can wait or delete. Once you do that, you can have a very clean inbox and get through your emails very quickly.



Kommentare


bottom of page