top of page
Writer's pictureAimee Reese

The Tale of Two Wolves


Have you ever read The Tale of Two Wolves? The first time I read this I knew it was something that I needed to see everyday to remind myself that I am in full control of the wolf that I decide to feed.

This story is beyond true and I see it everyday when we get stressed, frustrated, and angry. If you feed the evil you hurt yourself and others but if you take a few steps back, take a breath and look at things from a different perspective then you feed the good.

This past year has been the hardest year of my life and I am still working through it but through it all I have made sure that I did not let the evil win, I have stayed true to myself and let the good and positive win.

When you start feeling that you have to choose and not sure what to do read this and keep it close. I actually had it framed and have it hung on my wall.

The Tale of Two Wolves

One evening an old Cherokee told his grandson about a battle that goes on inside people. He said, "My son, the battle is between two "wolves" inside us all.

One is evil. It is anger, envy, jealousy, doubt, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.

The other is Good. It is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, forgiveness, truth, compassion and faith."

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf wins?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

It really does help to remind yourself you have the power to choose.



bottom of page