top of page
Writer's pictureAimee Reese

Life and Obstacles


Life is all about the obstacles you encounter and the steps you take to overcome and handle them. You have two options; one - let the obstacles stand in your way, or you could find a way through or around them. It’s all in your hands. In my case, the obstacle I faced was being diagnosed with Fibromyalgia. And the choices I made helped me to plow through it and overcome every hurdle I faced. Thanks to those choices I now have balance in my life, health, and nutrition.

I can’t tell the exact time that my Fibromyalgia started manifesting, but I do know for certain that it was a difficult period in my life. For countless years, my body was filled with pain and severe exhaustion. And with time I started noticing different changes in my health and mood; shortly after that, the pain and fatigue gradually began to become a regular part of my life.

Before I was diagnosed with the disorder, I had no idea what was wrong with me since I’d always taken good care of my health and body. My family and friends helped me in so many ways, and I don’t think I’d have survived the ordeal with my mental state intact without their support and help. They saw me through different doctors, tests, depressing conditions and what not. I can still remember every vitamin, herb, physical therapy, and professional advice I sought out to help me figure out my situation. And don’t even get me started on the vast sums of money I had to part with to know my situation.

I discovered a little bit late that I was focusing on the wrong thing and searching for answers to the wrong questions. I should have been focusing on what was causing the pain, and not the pain itself. I learned later on that my physical pain was connected to internalizing emotions and thoughts of my past, which my subconscious mind had locked and suppressed for years.

And after what felt like the millionth doctor’s appointment, they finally figured out what was wrong with me. I had Fibromyalgia, and the name sounded worse than the actual disorder. As years passed, I began dealing with the situation and learned how to overcome most of my obstacles by dealing with most of the emotions connected to my past. Doing so helped me get rid of some of my physical symptoms, as most of them were stress-related.

I saw an article somewhere online that talked about my condition. It said that the stiffness I felt was as a result of rigid and stiff thinking. Tension and fear have a way of holding on to the body and resulting in its cramping and gripping. Letting go of what was causing my pain and angst helped to increase the pace at which my body was healing.

Physical therapy and counseling reduced most of the effects of Fibromyalgia. I also noticed that some water-based exercises were especially helpful. I’m a living proof that with the right balance of healthy nutrients and a positive outlook towards life, anyone can overcome any obstacle facing them.


bottom of page