top of page
Writer's pictureAimee Reese

Being Authentic



We all know how exhausting it can be when we try to keep up the façade of being the person we think others want us to be, in life or business. We see how other people behave online, hear lots of stories about who we think we should be, this can make us feel that we need to adopt a new persona in order to fit in.

But authenticity is not something anyone can tell you how to do as it's completely unique to you. The very act of trying to copy someone or follow a manual to be authentic negates the authenticity, making it something very unreal, which is the exact opposite of what you're trying to achieve.

The secret to creating a great business and life is simply to be you. It sounds very simple, but to be truly authentic takes bravery. People want to get to know you, the real you so in order to be authentic you have to own who you are: strengths, weakness, idiosyncrasies and all is key to being successful in business and life.

In my full-time job I am the perfect example of someone living two lives, all serious in work mode and then out of work you will get to see the real me, and my fun, playful side will come out.

Over time I have realized that I was people pleasing, not willing to trust myself or my decisions. I found it difficult to relax and let people see the real me because I had a full-blown case of 'imposter syndrome' (the fear of being found out or not being good enough). I lacked confidence and doubted myself at every turn.

Think about your own life. How often do you go along with how you think people want you to be? Are you one person online and another offline?

Here is a great little piece that you can download and refer back to as you work your way to Being Authentic.


bottom of page